Sri, Sri Sri, Sri Sri Sri, …

The salutation Sri is used in a very religious term in India. It is similar to Mr. in English. For information on this salutation, I would suggest this link from Wikipedia.

Quoting from Wikipedia, “Sri/Shri is often used as a respectful affix to the names of celebrated or revered persons. It is not gender-specific, but the assumption that it is gender-specific has resulted in the title of Shrimati (abbreviated Smt) for women”.


Now comes the real discussion.  Of late, many people seem to be using and applying multiple SRI before their names or before the name of thier Guruji. I know of the Kalki Bhagavan of Nemam Temple near Chennai was using the prefix like ‘Sri Sri Kalki Bhagavan’ till sometime back. I am not sure whether they still cling on to this prefix usage.Today, near Kamarajapuram bus stand, I saw a van of Sri Muralidhara Swamiji. I haven’t observed even Guruji’s official trust also using Sri Sri but this van was saying Sri Sri Muralidhara Swamiji. I have reported this issue to Madhuramurali and let me keep posted if any responses come back that way.

Readers: What do you feel? Share your thoughts too…

