Yesterday (17 march 2015) I got a call from 044 28591206 at 12:44 from one Mr. Vaidyanathan, who represented as BSNL Addl GM. He was potentially responding to my complaints placed via Bsnl Mis/Pgportal regarding telemarketing calls. However he was discouraging me from placing complaints on telemarketing calls on the offending numbers that do not originate from BSNL network.

He wanted me to directly report to ‘TRAI’ or identify myself the network from which the telemarketing call originates and then to report to them. This is in sharp contrast to TRAI consumer charter  which states that when an offending call comes we need to report to the cellular network on which we are there and our network will take up the matter with higher channels and peer networks.

And this is how I have been seeing with my other numbers Aircel, Airtel and Vodafone. He also added that TRAI has changed these guidelines in the past week which is again a white lie (as confirmed from peer operators). Looks like either one of the telemarketer that I reported is his kith/kin or he is too lazy to act upon the reports?

Reported to BSNL Corporate on 18th March 2015 via DOTEL/E/2015/08765